Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flashy

Another perfect day so I spent some quality time outside with my camera.  The only slight damper to the day was when I glanced up and spotted a young bear in the lower part of our yard.  Before I could get a shot, he had melted back into the woods.  From now until November we will have to be very vigilant for bears as they are all trying to fatten up for winter.  The black bears here sleep for most of the winter but it is not a true hibernation and if they haven't gotten enough fat reserves laid in, they will be out foraging in the winter.  Wherever we live next, I would prefer not to share so much of my space with bears.

Meanwhile, the hummingbird numbers are robust this summer.  There were at least 3 adult males in the garden and probably 10 or more females/juveniles.  Definitely the kind of action for a mirrorless camera and 20 fps!  Loads of bees and solitary wasps too.  I even got phone video of both the Great Blacks and the Great Golden Diggers today - from about 4 inches away!  

And very big news - I saw the first female monarch in the garden today and she was leaving eggs!  I have now officially opened my Monarch Nursery with 5 fresh eggs.  Much later than usual this year.

Hubs and I went out for lunch today and enjoyed a delicious meal sitting outside in a patch of shade.  Jax is very happy to snooze in his crate when we are gone.  We got off to a rocky start with him in terms of crating mainly because we just didn't crate him - seems that one of us was always home.  And as a consequence he didn't want to go in the crate.  But I read somewhere that feeding the dog in their crate will help to build positive associations so we feed all his meals in there now.  And when we are getting ready to leave, we grab a small hand of kibbles and he runs into his crate and sits down to wait.  Couldn't be easier and he doesn't mind it at all.

I think I have one more square of dark with dried cherries and almonds.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.