secret garden

By freespiral

Fuchsia is a dancer

Fuchsia is a dancer
Dancing on her toes,
Clad in red and purple, By a cottage wall;
Sometimes in a greenhouse,
In frilly white and rose,
Dressed in her best for the fairies' evening ball. 

Not only did I like Barbies, I also loved the Flower Fairies and would of course combine the two, dressing my dolls up in sprigs and petals and blossoms, complete with elaborate stories. The hedgerows are perfect for that sort of thing at the moment: fuchsia, montbretia, ragwort, and loosestrife all competing against each other. I reckon it wouldn't take much to be transported back to  7 or 8! It's not Wordsworth though is it!

We did a lateish stroll around the circuit, feasting on blackberries which are large and fat and very early. It's Bank Holiday weekend here and the Ahakista festival so lots planned, the forecast looking suitably Bank holidayish!

Today was bright and breezy but I've been slaving over a talk I have to give next week as part of Heritage Week, part of my grant conditions . It's in Bandon and I was boning up on the wells around there and kept on finding new ones- fatal and so distracting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.