England's Green and Pleasant Land

First off, thanks for the overwhelming response to yesterday's Buttercups and Dandelions. I guess I should post in colour more often. That said though, I do try to view every shot on its own merit and pick the treatment that I think best works for the feeling I want to project. I like to think it's not a knee-jerk reaction to hit that 'mono' button!

You guys out there are so generous to me. I have to admit that I'm only hanging on here by my fingertips at the moment, for a number of reasons, but largely because I'm simply not able to engage with you, the community. I'm missing your blips and the banter. And it seems very unfair to be only receiving and barely doing any giving at all. I guess the bottom line is that I'm still enjoying the challenge of finding my shot each day and I don't want to lose that shrinking window of creative opportunity in my life. If I turned the comments off or took a break I'm not sure I'd find my way back. I don't want to risk that.

I'm writing this in the early hours of the morning having lost the entire evening to sleep. I cycled to and from work the short hilly way, enjoying another perfect summer's day here. I sat down on my bed, still in my cycling gear, to soak up the last of the sunshine streaming through the window and promptly passed out. I was out cold for four hours! My body was clearly trying to tell me something. Having taken a bath and eaten some food I'm now wide awake at two in the morning! There was stuff that I needed to do this evening so I guess I better crack on with that now and hopefully grab the rest of the sleep I need a little later.

This shot was taken on my ride into work first thing and Blake's Jerusalem came into my head. When the sun is shining out of a crystal clear sky there is nowhere in the world I'd rather be than in the English countryside. It's in my very soul. I suddenly felt this immense pride in my Englishness. And also very happy about having such a strong connection to the landscape. The words of William Blake resonate with me. Perhaps it's the mystical element in his language. And perhaps also the connotations that have been built up through hearing the words on special and often emotive occasions. It was a good way to start the day. The rest of it was something of a nightmare.

I should finally mention that there was one other high spot. I got an email from the Big issue telling me I'd won their monthly photo competition. The theme was Style and I entered this blip. I'm dead chuffed. I'm going to share the £25 prize with John, the guy who sold me the copy which prompted me entering. I'm looking forward to telling him tomorrow and buying a copy to see my photo in print.


And did those feet in ancient time.
Walk upon England's mountains green:
And was the holy Lamb of God,
On England's pleasant pastures seen!

And did the Countenance Divine,
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here,
Among these dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
Bring me my Arrows of desire:
Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
Bring me my Chariot of fire!

I will not cease from Mental Fight,
Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
Till we have built Jerusalem,
In England's green and pleasant Land

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.