Big Issue John

It's been another day of steady progress at the office and I'm feeling a little more comfortable around deadlines - although I'm afraid I'm still going to be working most of the weekend. Looking at the forecast it's not going to a bad weekend to be at the computer. The temperature has plummeted again. Definitely more April (or even March) than May.

Another portrait today, of John, who sells the Big Issue around Market Square in Shipley. As I'm around the Square for a few minutes most lunchtimes we've naturally got to know each other a little. I asked him a few weeks ago if he'd be happy for me to take a picture but he rather shyly demurred. Today when we were chatting he actually invited me to take a picture. That was a cool moment. I have tremendous admiration for this man. He's out in all weathers, always has a smile for people, and is never pushy. I've wanted to capture his gentle nature, and his warmth, but also something of the cold of the street which is his perennial workplace. I've never noticed him without his hat. I hope we get some weather soon such that he'll be compelled to remove it. He's going to look very strange! I really want to see what he keeps in there.

Now, talking of Johns, I have a dear friend who is in need of help. On Monday he blipped a pet dog with pretty flowers and blipcentral caused immeasurable harm by posting the image to the Blipfoto Facebook Page. Yesterday he blipped a cute squirrel which hit the top of the spotlight page. I've told him he's on a slippery slope but I fear he's not hearing me. He's threatening to post fluffy kittens in (gulp) a wicker basket next! It's all so terribly sad. If Mr.John succumbs then I fear the whole of blipdom is in danger of becoming infected with this same virulent disease. Stay firm. It is possible to resist. On my walk along the canal to work each morning I pass dozens of fluffy little ducklings and the cutest of cygnets but I simply think of England, count to ten, and keep my hands in my pockets and well away from the camera. But the very most important thing is not to feed the sickness. However deep the urge, please do not give this man any more stars or hearts. Sometimes one has to be cruel to be kind!

Have a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.