Everyday Life

By Julez

Better In Your Garden

Than around your neck! 

I've been busy today but not a great deal of progress has been made. All the documents in the folder I collected from my Dad's bungalow the other day are for last year so one day next week I will have to undertake the world's shittest treasure hunt around the spider riddled bungalow.

His TV licence is expired. I'm not sure if he's entitled to a free one and the website chatbot was no help. If I'd asked a passing squirrel in the Arboretum I'd have got as much sense. I also need to know if I can wait and renew it when/if they send him home rather than now. There is a TV in the property but no one will be watching it for a while.

Any day now the financial assessment form will drop on the doormat, as welcome as a pile of Moggy vomit. That will be another day, at least, of my life that I won't get back. 

When my Mum was going into a home we did the form. I still have it so I can use it to help this time. When they told me that Dad would be staying at the care home I was told that the manager had agreed to waiver the third party contributions. I had to ask what that meant. 

Turns out they can now come after wider family for money too. This is quite scary! I dont actually have any money or assets of my own. What are my generation and younger meant to do? Many of us are struggling to provide for our families and for our own old age, how are we also meant to pay for the older generation too? An older generation who have been paying into the system all their lives! Both my parents have worked all their lives.

I've been down to the care home this afternoon as I had to drop the letter with details of my Dad's hospital appointment in so transport can be arranged. I've been asked to go with him and will meet him at the hospital since the appointment is at 9.15 am. If he'd been going from home I'd have had to reschedule that!

My photo was taken on the way back. I took a detour down the street with the converted windmill, and this is in the garden of that, close enough to the road for me to photograph it.

Jeri is doing a race this weekend. Starting today, finishing Monday. 250-odd miles! Phew!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.