Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Curly

A nearly perfect Great Spangled Fritillary was flitting around one of my patches of native bee balm when it suddenly just stopped feeding and curled its proboscis up.  I always like seeing butterflies with curled "tongues" so it was an easy pick today.  

And because it was apparently a proboscis kind of day, I am putting a shot in Extra of a new-to-me weevil (Genus Curculio), one of the nut weevils.  It has an extraordinarily long proboscis even for a weevil, probably to facilitate boring into the nuts.  Anyway, cute little thing.

Hubs and I took Phoebe to the vet today.  She has been looking so frail lately and we were concerned that she might be losing more weight.  The vet is running a full set of labs but said that here weight is only an ounce less than it was in February.  Still, it will be good to check her kidneys and to see if the current dose of thyroid medication is controlling the hyper thyroid.  She is happily snoozing in her favorite bed by the kitchen window right now.  

Thanks for the kind words about the probably RA diagnosis.  I will admit that it's kind of thrown me a bit, but as far as I can tell, it really is a manageable disease now.  As my mother in law was fond of saying, getting old sucks.  

I opened a second nursery unit for my monarchs.  I have a good number of eggs I've found in the last few days and am keeping them separate from the growing caterpillars in Nursery One.  I'm so happy to be raising them again this year.

Dark with chili today.  And I had 2 squares!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.