Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Borders raider!

I set off fairly early today to Jedburgh to pick something up which I had ordered. A long time since I've driven the A68 zoo it seemed to take much longer than expected and I got on a couple of holdups on my way across town . Firstly in Craighouse, where something bad had clearly happened. Several police cars and ambulances and what I presume was a forensic tent on the pavement.
Next I choose to use the Straiton route onto the bypass and discovered the roads at a complete standstill. I managed to find a break in the dual carriageway and turned back, going out instead via Dobbies. Those who know me well know that I hate being in standing traffic. It brings out my claustrophobic panic tendencies. Others say I am just impatient!
I made it to Jedburgh ok and did what I had to do. I then decided to head across to Kelso on the way back and to visit a shop I remembered liking there and get some lunch.
It took me a while of hunting in Kelso before I remembered that the shop in fact was in Duns! Ah well. My blip is of the Kelso Town Hall. There are some magnificent buildings in the town and Floors Castle of course is there too, waiting for me to visit on another day.
I picked up a few bits and pieces in charity shops but failed in my quest to get any lunch. I headed back cross country via Gordon to Carfraemill and had a sandwich there, much bigger than what I wanted, but at least I had eaten. Most of my drive to and from the Borders was through sudden quite heavy showers although it was dry when I wasn't driving which was good timing!
I drove back through Dalkeith to avoid the delays at Sherriffhall roundabout and spotted a former colleague waiting to cross the road. She had her youngest daughter with her who is now in to my amazement 10. I suppose I've been retired for 9 years now so it shouldn't have been a surprise. I always remember her telling me that when her elder daughter was taken seriously ill and rushed to hospital, she was treated on arrival by my daughter. She was so complimentary about her and said what a relief it was, to see a friendly face and someone who would know that she knew what she was talking about. We worked together for about 30 years so I knew her well.
When I got home I was so tired that I fell asleep for two hours, the rest of the day passed in a bit of a daze until I went early to bed.
No early start tomorrow so that is good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.