Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Possession as they say !

Mine! says Pickle, of the travel cot I bought yesterday. I rather liked the optical effects of the mesh sides, I'm not sure I'd like to sleep amongst those patterns.
I slept soundly till 10. 30 this morning so missed going to church. I also missed a message from Ali saying she was popping in, then came the next one saying that as I hadn't replied she would go to the Gyle first! I barely had my clothes on when I heard Josie calling to me!
I can't believe how quickly she is growing up, she's going to be two next month.Today(extra) she was putting named animals onto the requested colour shape which she cost from the box..eg. Put a monkey on a yellow shape. She seems quite happy to accept both realistic and cartoon style animals as the same and generalises them well. What makes a horse a horse? I do enjoy playing various assessment tasks to see how she is doing. Part of being a teacher I guess, especially early years and additional support needs. Nothing to worry about there, certainly at the moment. (extra).
This afternoon I finally cleared out the pond pump, it's running beautifully now and good to have that done before the autumn and winter. There was a loud splash in the pond while I be was there but I wasn't quick enough to see if it was an over excited goldfish or a frog.
I made something new to me for dinner, a pot roasted piece of brisket. I'd never done such a thing before. I had to go out specially to buy a bottle of Guinness to use (other beers will do). It tasted very good. I've another the same, bought last week in Waitrose at half price. I may try a different recipe next time. There's plenty of this left for another couple of meals I reckon. I'm going to liquidise the veg that were left to make a thick sauce.
The older girls go back to school on Wednesday and Ali tomorrow. Another school year starts - P6 for Eilidh and P3 for Isobel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.