Killing me Softly

Wandering slowly without much purpose through town after lunch, caught a tune in my ear and went looking to find these two, Amy and Marcus singing and guitar playing.
She had a great voice and he could play. They (well Amy) consented to being photo'd as they played and sang Killing me Softly - took me back to first hearing it when it was number one in the UK charts in 1973(which you all know is the year that Sunderland won the FA Cup). Do they write songs like this any more.

Reminded me of some story about it being written, about a 20 year old girl going to hear Don Mclean and writing a poem afterwards "I felt all flushed with fever / Embarrassed by the crowd / I felt he had found my letters / And read each one out loud / I prayed that he would finish / But he kept just right on..." sounds scary if you ask me. Not sure if that urban myth or true.

Couldn't decide wether to post the link to Roberta or Lauren singing it as I love both versions but here's Roberta's because thats the one I first heard.

One of The Grove One Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.