a town called E.

By Eej

Mr. Puffy

My fondness of Blue Jays took a nasty turn last Monday in the middle of a game of "fetch and go hide": Mr. JJ Bluefeathers flew off and minutes later returned with a snack of some kind. I couldn't quite make it out because it was getting dusky, but it certainly looked like JJ was enjoying it. Something didn't seem quite right though - and what the hell was that red stuff? It couldn't be, could it?
Upon investigation it turned out to be a dead bird. I didn't really spend a lot of time figuring out what and how on account of having to run into the house screaming things like:"You son of a female dog! You nasty piece of excrement!" and similar exclamations that expressed my displeasure.

I did not know Blue Jays are carrion eaters.
I guess I don't mind someone cleaning up the mess - I just wish they wouldn't do it in front of me. Though maybe in this case it was a proud Jay moment; "Look human, I don't need to play games with you - I can find my own food!"
In which case I had it coming.

Something else that seems to be happening: whenever I talk to them they puff up and shake their feathers. I've seen it before, at random, but it happened 2 times today, with different Jays, right when I started to talk. At first I thought they were trying to be cute but it's more likely they are trying to make themselves look big and intimidating. Fail.

I still don't like them as much as I did before though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.