Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Faded but Fabulous

Both the flowers and the butterfly are a bit faded, a little worn, nearing the end...but still beautiful.  It was cloudy most of the day so not a lot of butterflies, this big, aptly named Giant Swallowtail being one of the few.  Both tails on this one are missing, no doubt something trying to grab a bite.  I rarely get them with wings spread as they mostly flutter while they feed, but the cooler temps and overcast skies had this one trying to catch some solar gain I guess. 

I forget to mention yesterday that when Hubs was leaving for his morning bike ride, he encountered Mama Bear and the 4 cubs just across the Lane from out driveway.  Mama sent the cubs scurrying into the woods and then stood up on her hind legs and huffed at Hubs.  He wisely returned to the house, put his bike in the car, and took it someplace else to start his ride.  Honestly, we are both over this whole bear thing this summer!  

Still a lot of hummingbirds in the yard including at least two adult males (see Extra for a slightly worn but still handsome male).  And I got a quick glimpse of a tiny gnatcatcher this morning, although no good shots.  Still lots of Great Black Wasps in the garden, with a strong preference for Swamp Milkweed and Mountain Mint.  There are even a couple of Great Golden Diggers still around.  

I am planning to take Jax to the same field I took him too last week for a walk this evening.  Don't want to risk encountering a bear on our Lane so worth the short drive to walk in peace, plus he gets to smell all kinds of interesting things.

I'm experimenting with different OTC things for the RA pain, and today I tried Motrin which seems to have worked quite well.  One for the win column!  Tomorrow morning I'm off to have the second of 3 medial branch blocks done on my neck (regular arthritis).  

I think dark with sea salt today.  And I'm drinking ginger peach tea which is delicious.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.