Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

YardBirds

I haven't added anything to my 2023 YardBirds record in a while so when I managed to get a couple of shots of this immature Chestnut-sided Warbler this morning, I figured I should post it.  Not a great picture, but if you've photographed warblers you know that they are shockingly fast and erratic as they forage.  And they seem to have an uncanny ability to ensure that there are branches between them and the photographer.  This bird looks almost nothing like she will look as an adult but she's still very pretty.  She was with another warbler, probably another of the same species.

There were also 4 hummingbirds careening around the garden today.  And goldfinches are visiting the echinacea and lobelia now, enjoying the feast of seeds.  

I released 3 monarchs today - 2 males and one female.  And it looks like two more will be on the scene tomorrow.  Three of the remaining six have spun their pads and are preparing to pupate.  Things are winding down...

Our neighbors are having a pool party so hopefully the commotion from that will keep the bears away from our yard too.  

Hubs and I went to a local farm-to-table place for lunch today.  It tends to be quite noisy but the food is good and it was nice to linger over a tasty lunch.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.