Pigs might fly

Pigs once flew above,
Powered by creative air,
Now the wind has changed.
Soon there will be brands and logos,
And snouts sunk in gilded troughs.


Back blip:

Had a rather fabulous day meeting some of my oldest friends (old as in we've know each other for a long time!), for culture, lunch and chat.

The culture was the Patrick Caulfield exhibition at Tate Britain, which I have to say was rather excellent. I didn't know much about his work, but I was very struck by it. What seemed to be simple and clear paintings were actually full of hidden intricacies and challenges....

The it was a long boozy pub lunch and catching up on everyones gossip and woes.

Then on somewhere else for coffee as we felt we hadn't had enough chatting time.

Then to Victoria for the train home..... which took me past Battersea Power Station. It's a building I must have travelled past a zillion times and I have always admired it's uncompromising architecture sticking 2 x 2 fingers up to everything around it. For a very long time it has been awaiting a resurrection since it stopped being a power station. I knew there were plans afoot so when I got home I looked it up to see what was going to happen ... this is what I found.

Now I might be completely misreading this, but it seems that this it is going to surrounded by expensive apartments and filled with branded retail outlets and upmarket eateries. I was rather hoping it would become an innovative and forward looking venue and centre for arts of all kinds ... maybe it will - there is some mention of a theatre, so who knows.....

Mind you the current redevelopment plans are a lot better than some of the previous offerings which included demolishing it and putting an Alton Towers style theme park there (see here for more info). At least this way the building itself will be preserved I suppose.

... bring back the flying pigs ........


PS. This was taken with the new camera, through the window of a moving train.... which is why there is a reflection of the train lights .... or is it a rapidly deflating pig?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.