ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

62

Thankful I have reached this number of years.
Nonetheless, every year this day gives me mixed feelings.
There are moments when I wish I didn't have to remember it.
For AW's sake, though, I go along and make something of it.
Tonight, we ate out, and I ordered my favourite appetizer -- six oysters.
Earlier in the day,...

Went to work, worked, went back home.  Gave myself the best present I could think of -- a good day at work.  Not exactly whistling my favourite tune, but it went reasonably well.  I didn't smile until I got back home, when I promptly sat down and read the last fifty pages of my current Pamuk, his thickest book so far, at the end of which I had a huge belly laugh.  What an entertaining piece of literature that was!  Tonight, I will begin the third one.  I guess that is my style -- the same author till all his works have been digested, same as what I did with Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Patrick Modiano, and Kazuo Ishigura, all on my shelf.  Many, many more coming up, one at a time.

Am thinking of an early-ish night, though, after maybe only one chapter.  Long weekend again.  Where the sun will shine is anyone's guess, forecasts notwithstanding.  Good hunting weather will always be welcome.

Thankful for 62 years, despite some people's intentions.  They lost their bet big time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.