Sunset and kayaks, Derwentwater

Worth a look in LARGE

After our first full day of PhotoShop, I had hardly been out of the house, and had only been able to grab a quick shot of a bee during a 15 minute tea break in the afternoon.

After dinner, the weather was about the best of the day, so I suggested a quick trip down to the Derwentwater landing stages.

Just beyond the landing stages, some local guys from Keswick school had pulled a couple of kayaks up on the shoreline, and were having a few beers. I loved the light, and the feel the kayaks gave to the image. I used a 0.9 Soft-edged grad at an angle over the sky and lake to prevent the kayaks from underexposing, and blended a duplicate layer at low opacity with the soft-light blending mode and a touch of gaussian blur to increase the tonality and create a glow.

Do look at the bee, and let me know which picture you like best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.