Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

ST JAMES PARK - HOME OF NEWCASTLE UNITED

Newcastle had a home game this afternoon against Burnley.  Go North East bus drivers are on strike for a week starting today so my sister in law V kindly gave me a lift to Newcastle.  We left my house around 1pm.  The traffic was really heavy as we got nearer to town.  She dropped me off near the ground where I took my blip shot.

The match started at 3pm so I had some time to spare.  I walked down to Savers as I needed some Gaviscon tablets - suffering badly with heartburn at the moment. 

When I got back to the ground it was chaos.  Long queues at every turnstile.  However the digital ticket system seemed to be working fine and the queues were moving quite quickly. 

I've added an Extra shot I took of Amanda Staveley - one of the Clubs directors and co-owners.  She was looking particularly glam today.  She and her husband attend every match.  You can see that a lady in the crowd has spotted Amanda's arrival and was taking a photo on her phone.  I took my shot from across the other side of the ground with my camera on full zoom.

The match was a good one.  Newcastle played really well.  Lots of energy and passion.  Miggy scored for The Toon on the 14th minute - a great goal.  Newcastle were awarded a penalty in the 2nd half and Isak put the ball in the net.  Final score Newcastle 2 Burnley 0.  Newcastle United continue their winning streak.

My sister in law had arranged to pick me up near the Redheugh Bridge which is quite a way from the ground.  It was easier for her to keep away from the centre of town and not get caught up in the traffic/one way system.  So I made my way to where she was parked.  It was raining heavily but I had my brolly.  V was there waiting for me and we had a quick getaway.  

Theres another football match on Wednesday evening and I also have a ticket for the Theatre Royal on Thursday and V is going to take me to those events too.  Im so grateful to her.  Listening to other supporters at the match it seems like getting a taxi today wasn't easy and a lot of them had to get lifts from friends/relatives or use their own cars and try and get parked.   V's son - my nephew-  is a bus driver with the company involved so we can see both sides of the situation.  I just hope they settle the dispute soon.  This strike will last a week and there's another strike planned for 14th October for another week. .

Felt very weary this evening and fell asleep on the sofa for a couple of hours. Fortunately I had recorded Strictly so I was able to watch it later.  

Steps today - 9,053

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.