The second half of life..

By twigs

Silly me!

A busy day that was great - visits, chats, chores, pickups, purchases and a sense of excitement for a new project that involves a few windows.  If it works out OK it will get blipped but there's a lot to be done before we get to that stage. 

This pic was taken as I drove up the Maitai valley to pick up the windows.  I saw this bird sitting in the middle of the river and thought it was a whio - a rare blue duck.  I've only ever seen one before, and that was seen fleetingly in captivity, so wasn't sure what it's distinctive/identifying characteristics were.  After looking it up when I got home my excitement disappeared - turns out it's a very common paradise duck.  These are usually seen in pairs but this one seemed to be alone - I'll happily use that as my excuse for not recognising it ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.