Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Five-star Lunch

Even though things are winding down in the garden, I'm finding some interesting wee creatures.  Today it was all about the Northern Crab Spiders who like to hang out on my zinnias.  Some of them are impossibly small and I know I probably only see a small fraction of them.  Interestingly, I didn't initially see the spider in this case because it was well hidden behind its meal, a very small fly.  I got my lens on the fly and then saw the spider face peeking out from behind it, so I carefully adjusted myself until I could get a reasonably good shot of the whole tableau.  When it comes to the world of invertebrates, I'm hard pressed to pass up sex or predation!  And just for fun, I am putting a shot in Extra with a different crab spider - see if you can spot it!

It's beautiful out today and I am feeling much better than I did yesterday so I've spent a lot of time outside in the garden.  I don't like to cut a lot of the plants back until spring, but there were some that I needed to clear.  There was also some weeding to do (my Hubs will laugh upon reading this because he thinks everything in the garden is a weed. He's not wrong.)

I got a box from B & H today with a new 4-pack battery case and two new lithium batteries for the Z8.  I love this camera except for how it chews through batteries!  I now have 5 batteries for it which should cover me very well.  That's in addition to 4 batteries for the D850.  Of course the D850 doesn't burn through batteries like the mirrorless does.  First world problems.  

I have not yet dared to look at the news today although I suppose I will get to it at some point.  I've customized my news feed on my iPhone to include things from the entomology world - it tends to be somewhat less stressful than the news about human beings.

Dark with raspberry today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.