Northern Exposure

By Northern

Old time music

Flick and me were having a nostalgic conversation about old records and Dansette players.

I had mentioned that the local museum has a couple of old record players and recently had great fun cranking up this one and sampling some of the a stash of records they have. I had thought it was a Dansette (because that's the only name I know) but on closer inspection it is BRC Monarch. I was delighted to see the nifty paperclip used to hold the arm, I'm sure our old one had exactly the same feature.

The record on the turntable is one that we particularly enjoyed 'Cross eyed Sue' by Bud and Joe Billings (with novelty accompaniment) - poor Sue didn't have much luck believe me. Others in the collection range from Jimmy Shand and classic country to boogie woogie and 1970s compilations. One day I'll have time to go through it all and sort out any hidden gems... and maybe have a wee jig around the museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.