SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Guayaquil

After a healthy breakfast of cereals and fresh tropical fruit this morning, I did some work and edited photos before being picked up by X and his wife L. They took me on a tour of the centre of Guayaquil and, although it's largely busy, noisy and polluted, there were a few places that were good to visit. The high point was the walk up over 400 individually numbered steps through the oldest part of the city, to the lighthouse. From the top, I took this photo looking back to a small chapel and beyond. We also visited the Parque Seminario where there are many iguanas wandering free within the square (see extra, iguana fans). It also has (another) statue of Simón Bolívar, and looks onto the cathedral.

We had a late lunch of excellent ceviche with plantain crisps and rice, and my drink was the water from a fresh coconut (see extras). I feel a long way from Phoenix now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.