SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Slides

I've never spent the whole day in a hotel, but that's what I'm doing, as I need to focus on preparation for the eight hours of talks that I'm giving next week. I've got slides from years of teaching and academic presentations, so it's mainly a case of compilation, but I needed to prepare some introductory material from scratch. I'm now into research-level material, so it's getting easier, and I can start to feel relaxed about the week to come.

I'm just leaving my room for meals: excellent fresh tropical fruits for breakfast, but cooked food here is generally disappointing. I'm not missing much outdoors, as the weather is dull, warm and humid, and there's nowhere I'm inspired to explore on my own, particularly as I don't know where it might be dangerous to do do in Guayaquil.

The tall building is the car park of my hotel, where cars are raised in a lift!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.