Meet the Cooler Boston Pops

I had a hard time choosing my blip photo today, so I decided to go for silly. This sign made me laugh when I saw it. So here it is for your enjoyment.

Arvin and I got up a bit earlier this morning to prepare for another day of music. After breakfast (did I mention that they serve a wonderful breakfast at the Emerson College dorms?), we decided to go observe another master class. This time it was Ellen Hargis, Paul O'Dette and Stephen Stubbs working with singers and accompanists. It was held on Beacon Street so that gave us an opportunity to walk through the park again on our way there. It was, guess what, raining. We suited up and I took a few photos along the way. When we got there the session was already going. We snuck in and watched the three teachers working with several students. As usual I was fascinated by what they had to say. While we were there, the sun came out. Hooray!

We walked back down Beacon Street into the park again and that's where I took photos of the park, the animals in the park and this sign on Beacon Street that made me laugh.

We went home to give Arvin some time for a nap. He had been dropping off at the master class so it was clear he could use a break. While he sleeps, I am here doing my blip for today so I won't be up so late tonight. We have two more concerts tonight at 5 and 8 o'clock and both are ones we want to see. And they are in two different places this time which means doing more walking to get to both. Again I'm not sure how much commenting time I'll have today. Hope you are all having a great week and the beginning of a great weekend.

Update... we had dinner at a Boston Brewery and drank their yummy beer. I had lobster and shrimp tacos. Arvin had a Ruben. Took a short break and then hopped on the T to go to Jordan Hall for our 5 o'clock concert. It was fantastic. We saw Gli Incogniti lead by Amandine Beyer who played the Baroque violin. She was the woman we saw play the Mozart violin in Monday's concert. She is an amazing musician and plays a mean violin! With her were three others, one playing the theorbo, a very large lute, one playing the viola de gamba and last but not least, a gal who played an organ and a harpsichord at the same time. Not kidding. The harpsichord was up on boxes and the playing part sat right on top of the organ so she could reach both. They got a standing ovation at the end of their concert, and that doesn't happen often here.

We then zipped on the T and walked a short distance to Emmanuel Church to hear the Hilliard Ensemble, a wonderful quartet of men who have been singing early music for years. They were focusing on Italian Renaissance songs and they were great too. We had a wonderful evening and now are home getting ready to turn in.

More pictures from our trip can be found on my Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.