Needle in a haystack

Well, more precisely, a lens cap in a big field.

On yesterday's blip, I listed my bad luck, bad bridge, escaping blue butterfly, scratched on the barbed wire and - losing the lens cap from my Lumix Lx7. As if to prove I really am a crazy blipper, I went back, in between the showers.

Yes, I did go to look for it. But I also decided that I wanted to have a go at taking photos of the poppies and the rapeseed field with the Canon. That was my excuse anyway.

I parked in a more sensible place - the little car park by the Pipe Hill Heathland, and thoroughly enjoyed the walk down to the roundabout. No butterflies - it was far too dark and threatening - but lovely poppies and some yellow flags in the drainage area. They really have made a good job of this mini nature reserve.

I scrambled up the same bank to the best vantage point and had a bit of fun. Yes, I looked for said lens cap and decided that I ought to have brought my trusty grabber with me if I had any chance of retrieving it. No sign - so I took lots of shots of the field against the glowering sky.

When I'd done, I started to scramble carefully down the bank - if you slip you could end up under one of the speeding cars on the roundabout - and happened to look slightly to my right.

There was the lens cap - looking up at me as if to say "what kept you ?"

poppy field

rapeseed

solo poppy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.