Together again

I have been looking forward to today for so long! When Joss Whedon was making The Avengers Assemble, he got his favourite actor friends round to his house and they made a film. Much Ado About Nothing was shot in his house in 12 days. It came out in the UK yesterday, and today I went to see it with Nanisa, David, Serena and Nanisa's mum.

It was brilliant, a really great portrayal of a Shakespearean comedy. Nathan Fillian was great as Dogberry, but for me Alexis Denisof and Amy Acker stole the show as Benedick and Beatrice. Amy and Alexis are magical together and this is the first time that they've been on screen together since playing Wesley Wyndham-Price and Winifred Burke/Illyria in Angel. I was heartbroken when Fred died and the lovers were torn apart, so it was wonderful to see them finally get their happy ending. (I hope I'm not giving the game away here - but come on the story has been around for a while!!)

I was shocked that only one cinema in Edinburgh was showing the film, and that it is restricted to 2 showings a day in a tiny screen. But then, I guess a Whedon-Shakespeare production isn't for anyone. Well, let me tell you, it is for me! It was a triumph.

In other news, I went for my long run this morning. It was strange going on a Saturday rather than a Sunday, but I'm off to Glasgow tomorrow.

Today's run: 10 miles
June running mileage: 39 miles
2013 running mileage: 499 miles

P.s yes this is the Wesley that Biscuit is named after

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.