helenann

By helenann

The Old Oak

We had planned to see The Old Oak, the latest (and perhaps last) film directed by Ken Loach, so I thought I might blip a photo of an oak tree to accompany my journal. However, when I went in search of an oak tree locally, I realised I didn't know of one! 
We have plenty of beech, maple, sycamore, ash, hornbeam, hazel, etc but no oak. I suspect it's because we are on chalk. So, we'll have to make do with this oak tree-free  path. 
Meanwhile, we really enjoyed the film. It was presented by our local village film club at a matinee show, so I brought my Mum along too. It's set in 2016 in a run down former mining village in County Durham, where the only public meeting place is the barely-surviving pub, called The Old Oak.A group of  Syrian refugees are sent to the village to be rehomed there, only to be met with open hostility from many of the locals. In true Loach style it is full of gritty realism but with uplifting sections, too. I found it really moving and thought provoking, and well worth watching.  
There were some lovely scenes of Durham and its surrounds, which made us vow to visit there, and I  will continue my search for a fine old oak tree near here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.