Let There Be Light

By solli

Yellow-billed Cuckoo

coccyzus americanus

The Bio-blitz was a huge success!

The birding team documented 65 species by mid-afternoon and my team was headed to another section of the park when I received a call that I better hurry home since I was expected to attend a family function.

I would never have noticed this Yellow-billed cuckoo had it not been for Clifford M, a forty-year Audubon birding veteran who was able to detect the cuckoo by his soft kuk, kuk, kuk calls. Clifford was a veritable reservoir of calls and anecedotes; entertaining us with his discoveries of bear scat and garter snakes. As we walked along, he taught us the names of various trees and foliage and with stunning speed he identified the wee field mouse I found nibbling at his breakfast in the thicket. Among many other birds, we heard the Acadian flycatcher and the Carolina wren, spotted a family of doves feeding their young one and heard a ruckus which turned out to be a pair of Baltimore Orioles defending their nest against an interloper.

My group consisted of the Friends of Lenape members who are wonderful people with a great sense of camaraderie and humor. Their collective and extensive knowledge of bird song and behavior was just astounding. The weekend provided everyone with a wonderful opportunity to learn something new with every footstep. I'm so glad to have been a part of this event.

To see the birds, the peeps, the screech owl, and other cool activities, please click on the link!

Bio-Blitz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.