Let There Be Light

By solli

Love

Celithemis elisa ~ Calico Pennant

I attempted to check the two babies in the Lenape nest this morning but I was bombarded by nine tree swallows all click click clicking around my head! I know when I'm beaten, so I retreated to the tall grasses where the deer lay down at dusk.

I caught sight of a dragonfly; he lit on an onion plant and proceeded to have his lunch. It was 12:15pm after all so I set up camp and shot 1220 pictures of him in various positions. He was fascinating to watch and I think I fell in love a bit. He looked directly at me and cocked his head as if to say "How do you like this pose? What about this one? Here, I'll swing around just so. Would you like to see my backside? I thought so. Here, did you get my good side? Of course I don't mind if you change lenses three times." As I fired away, he munched away at the tip on the plant and I was happy.

The sun came in and out from behind the clouds and his wings glistened like jewels. He's good viewed large! Here's a dorsal view on flickr!

When I came home, I made a fabulous pear cake and a sweet potato soup. I'll postblip the recipes if anyone is interested!

Thank you all for your stars on yesterday's caterpiller!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.