analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Mom. Lumix M4/3 20mm

In the last few days, cousin Crispin25 and I have been exploring family artifacts from decades ago.  It put me in mind of this one: a portrait of my late mother painted by my aunt, her older sister, c1936 or '37 when Mom was about 15 or 16 years old.
Some years ago, my nephew, who lives in New Jersey, visited Boston, bringing with him a treasure trove of art and photographs which had been in storage since Mom's death decades before.  In a stack of old photographs, was this oil painting, folded on itself several times, in parlous condition.  From photographs, we knew that my aunt - 7 years older - had captured a good likeness of her younger sister, even if some of the proportions are a little off. My Editor and I decided that the portrait, despite the damage, was worth putting in a nice frame to hang over our dining table. Mom has kept on eye on us these last few years, a reassuring presence.  Here she is, a young woman with her life stretching before her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.