Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Say it like it is!

I waited in for a large delivery today. The rather appropriate packaging amused me! The driver arrived half an hour before his scheduled delivery hour started. I asked what he would have done if I hadn't been in. Left it with a neighbour he said! It measures 6ft by 4ft by 1ft. I'm not sure many neighbours would have been happy taking it in, nor would we have been at having to go and pick it up.
I had a lovely day today. Cooking this morning - a steak casserole ready to be a pie filling for delivery tomorrow.
I went into the garden while it was coming and finally got around to planting all the bulbs I have been ignoring in hope that they would self plant. I had just enough compost to complete the task.
I picked about 8oz of raspberries while I was in the garden with more to come. I thought as we were in for some high winds it would be a good idea to rescue those that were ready. I've just had some for dinner, delicious.
This afternoon I went to meet up with a friend, last seen 29 years ago, we picked up just where we left off. We were at secondary school together then meet up at ante natal classes in 1982. We then moved near to their house and our children spent much of their first 3 years together. We've kept in touch via cards etc over the next three decades, but it's the first time we've met up, it won't be so long until we do so again!
I took out our new car to go and visit, the first time I've driven it and was very happy in it. It's a VW so the basic concept is the same, but it has rather more bells and whistles than my elderly polo. Heated seats again, I had those on my beetle, so am very glad to have them back again in time for the winter.
The wind is building up I'm glad to be indoors and safe and warm. Sometimes I really need to count my blessings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.