Art imitating life

For some reason I decided to bike to work today. A day on which it turns out a chunk of the city is flooded.

It wasn't too bad biking in but after I arrived the intensity set in. The brightest part of my decision making to was to wear my industrial strength gum boots known as muck boots. The hunter would be impressed I'm sure.

Large to see how the blend with the steps.

They worked pretty well, but initially I kept expecting them to be locked into my pedals like my shoes are. They're slightly clunky but just like driving you need to bike slower when it's wet. Brakes don't work so well I discovered when the path through Hagley Park disappeared into a lake-like stretch of water.

The rain has eased now but I expect my boots will be a useful addition on the way home. I might have to walk stretches where there is flooding or I don't want to compete with traffic.

There is nothing like a little adventure on a Monday ;-)

Speaking of adventures, looks like we might be in for a big dump of snow later in the week. Another adventure that will quickly lose appeal if I have to dig out paths and the power goes off. Yes, the woman who tramps and climbs mountains prefers a little comfort on the home front ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.