Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Progress is slow around here

Peter, my beekeeping godfather told me recently that this part of Germany (The Allgaeu) is almost unique in that the farmers do not trade-in their old tractors when buying a new one and so you see so many old ones still doing small tasks. I'm no tractor nut but I think this may be a Klöckner-Humbold-DeutzF1L514 from about 1950. It's always nice to see something older than myself even if it's in better working order than I am. Recently one was stolen & reported to be worth 5000 Euros.
The ratio of tractor to field area is no doubt a statistic guaranteed to get any British farmer in to "EU Rage" mode in milliseconds. In order to calm down, if you look at the front of the trailer, in the background is a silage trailer being pulled by a hidden JCB Fastrac 3230. Minutes later it also passed, somewhat faster, and so to prove it here it is on Flickr
This was the major event of our late morning walk between Daxberg and Erkheim where I went to get some linseed oil to brush on the new bee hive. Didn't manage to get any neon pink toe-nail varnish to paint the queen bee when I eventually find her. Perhaps The Pink Queen could help me out. ( It is quite common to mark the queen so as to speed up recognition but not with varnish of course!)

Don't read this if in the UK:
14:45 GMT+2
Pool: 23°C
Terrace south side in shade @1.5m: 37°C
North Wall of house @2m: 30°C

Don't just read what I wrote, DO as I wrote. I take no responsibility for rage attacks, broken porcelain or kicked cats. Why don't women ever listen to men.......?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.