Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Color matching

My gratitude to all who loved Margie’s poetry reading despite the camera noise. If I try again, I’ll use a phone and see if that works better.

This weekend I wanted to spend the whole the two days with Sue, not making and posting photographs and comments. Without clear intention, I have slipped into a habit of frequently skipping photography on our weekends, and maybe I’ll just keep doing that. 

Before I left her house this morning, we joined an online meditation led by a former teacher, Thanissara. She’s offering a month of chanting and meditation focused on a complete ceasefire in Gaza and the occupied territories, with the exhortation that we make a spiritual practice of calling and writing to the people in power to plead for a permanent ceasefire. Daily. I had written, signed petitions, and made phone calls already, but it had not occurred to me to make it a daily practice. I’m in.

There’s another free online event that many of you might find interesting. It’s a photography workshop called “The Landscape of Inequality,” based in the UK. It will feature projects concerned with “immigration and detention, the relationship between humans and nature and its impact on climate, the effect of housing inequities and marginalized communities,” and more. Here’s the link, if you’d like to know more, and my gratitude to WalkingMarj for telling me about it.

For my blip, these two people at the streetcar stop seem to echo the mural behind them, and though it is the ugliest mural I’ve seen here, they make it a bit more bearable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.