Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Handsome

One of the many reasons to provide year-round water for the birds is attracting species like this American Robin.  Their diet consists of fruit and insects so they have no interest in bird feeders, but water is irresistible to them.  This male is in perfect plumage and this shot of him sitting on the edge of the bird bath shows off the fine details of his plumage.  I especially like the white trim on his breast feathers - not sure that I've ever noticed that before.  Actually I was quite surprised that he landed so close to me (only about 10 feet, maybe a bit less).  

I hauled my hide out of the garage and set it up.  Winter is the perfect time to shoot from the hide and I'm actually a little late in getting it out this year.  Need to give everyone some time to get used to it.

I ran some errands this morning and then took Jax for a walk. In between those two things, I also saw a small black bear trotting along the ridge in the woods behind our house.  He looked very small to me and I wonder if he's an orphaned or newly ejected juvenile.  He was well obscured by brush back in the woods so no photos.  

The next two days are going to be quite cold so I am not sure how much time I will spend outside.  Poor Jax has such a thin coat of hair that he gets cold quickly.  He's currently stretched out in front of the fire, like a cat.

Dark with dried cherries and nuts today

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.