Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Peter Pipers perfect pastry for particular people

No soggy pastry here! The other week when discussing butcher's steak pie pastry, someone asked if I had a pie funnel. As you can see I do have one or two! In addition there is a green Denby one currently at Katy's house! I grew up with my mum's which is the most stained elephant one here. It's made by Nutbrown and after Dad died in 2009, it was one of the things I most wanted from his house. He had taken it to Hampshire in 1986 when he remarried.
By then I had managed to acquire a couple of blackbirds of my own. The white one is by Le Creuset. I used to have one which worked when it was in the oven. I'm not sure where that one has gone I realise, I haven't seen it for a while. I picked up the others from various shops, one can never have too many pie funnels! Well yes, actually I know one can, but in my defence I often make three pies at a time and not all my pie dishes are the same depth! I often wonder why an elephant should hold up a pie. Part of my love for India means anything to do with Pachyderms has a special appeal. I do love them, both my pie funnels and the living breathing ones.
Today I finished off making the pies in the morning then did some general house work in the afternoon. I have sold a couple of things on our local Facebook page and they were collected which was good. I met up with son in law one and swapped a pie for a last week's empty container. I dropped him at Craigleith and went into Homebase where I bought a Christmas tree. I haven't put it up, but it is purchased, so that's a tick.
This evening we watched last night's quizzes, I enjoyed Only Connect but wasn't really on the ball for UC. I wasn't really on the ball for bridge either last night to be honest. Ah well. Wednesday tomorrow already. Another week half other, I really must do some Christmas and birthday shopping. We have three birthdays between 27th and 29th!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.