Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dashing!

I have to go with this dragon today as I think it is one of our prettiest. He's a Blue Dasher (Pachydiplax longipennis) and I think his white face and big blue eyes make him a very handsome specimen. And, he was kind enough to pose for a few very quick shots when I was out hiking this morning.

I also saw my first Halloween Pennant today which was cool. They are a spectacular dragon and I was sorely tempted to blip it instead of the dasher, but I think I will see more of the pennants this summer. While on my hike, I saw loads of cabbage whites - the milkweed is starting to bloom here so the butterflies are very happy. Also saw my first Summer Azure, a small blue butterfly which is ridiculously difficult to photograph!

I put the best nine shots of the day on Flickr, starting HERE if you'd care to have a look. Included are a shot of Mama Wren with an enormous insect for her babies and a shot of the nest box with an enormous baby wren mouth sticking out. Their beaks are freakishly large! (And really cute, IMHO). You know how puppies always have big feet that they have to grow into? Well, I think baby wrens must have large beaks that they have to grow into!

I survived the dentist yesterday. Three old filling replaced during which time I maintained a posture very much like a board - stiff and tense and unyielding. As a consequence, my neck hurts like hell today, as well as the jaw where I got the Novocain injections. Woe is me. I need to get over my bad self.

Thanks for the lovely comments on Papa cardinal and his lovely daughter - much appreciated. They spent a little time on the Spotlight Page today, and I am sure they were a bit awed by the company they were keeping.

Big thunderstorms happening right now, so I am going to power off my computer just in case we get a strike. Maybe I should have some wine, too - just in case...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.