TrishaR

By TrishaR

Extraction Day

I thought I would have a disturbed night thinking about getting the back tooth out but I slept very well - 7 hours my Fitbit told me!

My appointment was at 11:15 so I had a bacon sandwich for breakfast as I figured I wasn’t going to be eating anything else the rest of the day, maybe some saps !

I took a diazepam to calm me a half hour before the appointment and walked down. Our dentist is a ten minute walk from the house , very handy..

Anyway, in I went with Jenny, the dental assistant (not sure of their proper title) and the x Ray of my offending tooth was on the screen. It has been nursed along for a few years but this time was beyond repair. Elaine my Dentist appeared, and we chatted about it before she anethsitised the gum before putting the needle in the gum in three areas. Chatting till it froze up. She tried moving the tooth about to see if it was frozen and I could feel it so another injection. I take forever to get the gum frozen I think about 20 mins before she got whatever the instrument is that hauls out the tooth. She said she was doing it and then whoosh it was out with no problems. I had imagined that it would be like the one I got out in January where I could hear the crunch but it was upper next to the ear so this was bottom left of the jaw at the back so none of that. Really I got all worked up for nothing. Of course my mind goes off in tangents with stuff like this and it shouldn’t as Elaine is one of the best in her field.

I asked for the tooth home as I like to examine it (weird I know) and I asked the family if they wanted to see a pic of it and Cameron replied ‘I kind of do’ so I sent a video of it . Ben had told me the night before that he didn’t want to see it but well, they had a choice to delete the video on the group chat.

I could see the three fillings and then the decay underneath that was causing me aches lately.

When the anaesthetic wore off around 3 o’clock my jaw was very sore. And I also had a sore head and felt shattered. I had a bowl of yogurt, blueberries and lemon mousse watching a recording of Deal or No Deal and went to bed around 8 along with dissolvable co-codomol and slept till 1. Got up and had more.

The saga of the tooth extraction interesting to no-one but myself :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.