Everyday Life

By Julez

Goosander

It was a pretty laid back start to the day. Really I just wanted to read, but eventually I had to start planning Christmas lunch and what we will need for the stay of Grace and Sophia. No choice any more really, time is running out and we really have to do the bulk of the food shop on Monday.

It's Christmas lunch that is the main stress-trigger, though making sure I can feed the girls during their stay is important too. But I somehow have to put together something that will please one fussy eater, two vegans and a committed carnivore who has actually requested Turducken, in a kitchen  with hardly any worktop space and only enough room for one person at a time!   I'll eat whatever I make for the vegans, hopefully a caramelised onion, squash & spinach pithivier so long as I can find all the ingredients.

No way can I make Turducken though! I will find something meaty and tasty for Zephan, enough for his lunch and some left over to go in sandwiches after but not a turkey stuffed with a duck, which has been stuffed with a chicken! It must be tricky to get right and not give anyone food poisoning. The very thought of it gives me food poisoning!

I was pretty wired and hyper so I was glad when, after lunch we went out to Five Mile Bridge in Fiskerton to have a walk along the riverside cycle track between there and Bardney. The light was gorgeous and though the wind was quite cool the conditions for walking were quite agreeable. I felt much calmer after. 

Yesterday Brian blipped goosanders seen in Hartsholme Park, and I was happy to see this one today on the river - so my turn to blip one!

I am trying to type this with the laptop on the sofa arm as Minstrel is on my lap! It is not the comfiest way of typing but Minst is happy! Moggy-feeding time now too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.