Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Favourite Book

Does anyone know what this is? It is a little souvenir I got myself from one of many visits to Global Village. They sell these at the African Pavilion. Little mini baobabs. I first became aware of this tree when I read "The Little Prince." Chapter 5 here (Karen Woods translation - the best one to read IMHO). Please do click on that link and read the Chapter. The whole book if possible! It is a REAL gem!

Well, G didn't get called out to do any supply today, so first off, we had ... ta da ... a full English breakfast!! Headed out in the afternoon to get some more canvasses printed. Something very interesting going on with the weather. Low flying clouds moving rapidly over the City - particularly giving great effect to the Burj Khalifa. It was spectacular really but ALAS... I FORGOT TO TAKE MY CAMERA!! G too. So much for being a blipper for over a year.

Anyway, no point fretting. We got on; called in at Pauline's for a cup of tea and got home after the best light had gone... which brings me to the indoor blip. No idea why but I've been a day ahead of myself all week and quite relieved that it is only Thursday tomorrow - so one more day to get on with things. :)

For those of you who don't click on the link, this is the quote that has stuck with me since first reading the book at 17...

I do not much like to take the tone of a moralist. But the danger of the baobabs is so little understood, and such considerable risks would be run by anyone who might get lost on an asteroid, that for once I am breaking through my reserve. "Children," I say plainly, "watch out for the baobabs!"

Brilliant, brilliant book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.