Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Nafplio

Got down to Nafplio what's a beautiful little old town where history was written too; the Venetians occupied it and that's visible from the Italian buildings they realized there and the Venetian Lion what decorates some of those buildings. 
I got to especially Nafplio this time coz I wanted to buy there an amber present to my DIL, my Benjamin's lady. In Nafplio are many gorgeous shops with amber charms and I luckily I found one such shop with amber necklaces and bracelets open ~ most were closed now coz it's no more the touristic season and some because of the hour I was there in town... too early to be opened and I had to move on again the afternoon in order to reach my friends in Athens, from where I'd leave for home in Holland.

In the extra a shop-window with amber necklaces and komboloi / worry-beads

Here you see the fortress Bourtzi Castle what's built in the gulf just out of reach from the city and mainland Peloponnese. And you see the Season's lights for December and the coming New Year in daylight.
Wikipedia has this info on Bourtzi Castle.

As you can tell from my entry; I got back home in Holland alright! Visited my sisters and my Benjamin and DIL plus some friends and can edit my photos from Crete and Greece at last. For the moment (now Dec 19th) I must dash off as I have an appointment at my dentist.

Backblip 8
here backblip 7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.