Leura Cascade Grotto

See LARGE.

In days of yore whenever one of my siblings was skylarking about or showing off, my mother's words of wisdom were always, "Don't encourage him. It'll just make him worse." Alas, some well meaning blippers DID encourage me yesterday and so I have become a fully fledged waterfall monster.

This time I am many kilometres from Lawson where I shot yesterday's blip. I am at the Leura Cascades, still experimenting with long exposures on the hiking tripod. I seem to have sorted my camera movement problems although, for the life of me, I can't remember what I must have done. I hate it when that happens. Anyway this is a secluded pond and grotto along the Leura Cascade Rainforest Walk. It's an incredibly beautiful place.

Just by the by, I DID eventually find out what had caused the colour on those rocks yesterday. It was RUST. Evidently in many Blue Mountains streams there's a certain bacteria which interacts with soluble ferric compounds in the water, causing the iron to come out of solution in the form of iron oxide (i.e. "rust") which coats the sandstone over which the streams flow. Well what do you know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.