Fairy Falls

About two thirds of the way up the Blue Mountains ridge is the village of Lawson, named after one of the three original explorers. To the north of town are some attractive bush walks which I had never visited before. I am going to go back and explore further quite soon, but I stopped by the closest of the several waterfalls in the district (Fairy Falls) just to try out the OMD with my light hiking tripod, doing longer exposures.

Some of you may remember that I did a lot of experimentation with my variable ND filter on several different cameras a few months back. Up till now I'd had trouble focusing through the very dark filtration and assessing exposure. I am delighted to say that in combination with the OMD, the filter was a breeze to use. Focusing and exposure seemed to go without difficulty.

On the other hand, I may have to bring my heavy tripod for such shooting. The camera seems to have moved ever so slightly during exposure on a good many of the frames. I suspect it's the effect of the relatively long lens which transfers the centre of gravity forward of the small camera mounting. More experimentation needed.

We haven't had much rain of late. The volume of water was not high. I think the Fairy Falls will offer more for photography, after a period of good rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.