Living my dream

By Mima

Half way up the hill…

…is this derelict farmhouse by the side of the road. I particularly like the juxtaposition of ruin and neat pile of baylage.

Bean and I had a slow and very hot walk up the hill in heat and high humidity. We ended our walk in the creek, where Bean nose-ploughed her way through the water and I paddled to cool my hot feet.

It has been a gentle day pottering about, reading, and not making the planned cheeses. When I drove up to the coo-shed first thing there was no milk. The milking schedules have changed slightly for the holidays. I collected my churn-full mid afternoon and will make cheeses tomorrow.

And I've picked broad beans, a cauliflower, artichokes and cardoons this evening, all of which I will process tomorrow.

Christmas isn’t a thing I celebrate, so tomorrow will be much like any other day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.