Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Wigilia

I've tried to recreate my blip from exactly a year ago today. Last year's Wigilia celebration was cancelled when the hosts, the Glasgow family, developed a nasty lurgy. Fingers crossed for 2023 and the opportunity to get together on what is, in Poland, the big day. 

As always, for us, this won't be a traditional Wigilia ie not a vigil nor a 12 course feast lasting till/beyond midnight. Rather, a family lunch will be enjoyed. I like to give a small Wigilia gift and the blip is a pile of the crackers I put together each year. They're reusable so I'll be retrieving the cardboard shells once they've been opened for use next year. When I was assembling the blip I noticed a couple of loose chocolate pennies so someone's cracker is already falling to bits!

After lunch everyone will want to be back in their own homes in decent time to prepare for tomorrow. It will be a quiet Christmas Eve evening here compared to years gone by and that suits me perfectly. 

If this is a festival you celebrate I wish you an enjoyable Christmas Eve/Wigilia. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.