Wigilia

Wigilia, 24th December, is the big day in Poland. We are all having lunch at our elder son's home in Glasgow today. It won't be a traditional  Wigilia ie not a vigil, not lasting till midnight or with many of the other components you'd expect. But it is a lovely occasion for us all to be together and make sure that our grandson's Polish heritage is acknowledged. His other grandparents will be having a Wigilia celebration later today at home in Poland.

Gifts will be exchanged today in Poland and, although main presents are for tomorrow here, I'm providing a small one today. For the past few years I've
filled a reusable table cracker for everyone. Four have gone down south for family already. Eight will be distributed today. It's a bit of fun and I enjoy finding small gifts to fit in to each cracker. What I no longer bother with is the 'snaps' which never work. And they can't be saved and reused so I dispense with them.

We will be home by late afternoon. Our daughter will stay for a bit longer, we'll have a bowl of soup and watch a Christmas movie. And a lovely early night!

If you celebrate Christmas I hope you have an enjoyable Christmas Eve/Wigilia. If you leave out a dram for Santa I hope he finds you tonight.

Edit: I should learn not to count my chickens. Wigilia lunch is postponed. They've got the lurgy in Glasgow. Just hope that a) they're better tomorrow and b) it wasn't generously shared by us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.