Wigilia

Today is Wigilia, the big day in Poland. As long as all the PCR tests and travel go well my elder son, his partner and their wee boy will be with her family by this evening to celebrate.

As for us, Christmas Eve will be a quiet day. It used to be the day when the family gathered here. But, even if it weren't for covid, this is a tradition which has been superseded by other, newer traditions. This evening there will just be three of us enjoying a meal together. There will be plenty of room to leave space for the unexpected visitor, a Wigilia tradition.

However there are some things that don't change. The festival of 9 lessons and carols at 3pm accompanied by mince pies and a super dry sherry. The blip is a complete set up as it's only 08:00 so I'm not cracking out the sherry nor eating the mince pies. The advent candle is nearly finished and I'll leave it till this evening to re-light it. This isn't a 'proper' sherry glass but it belonged to Cameraman's grandfather and is a connection to people no longer with us. When I was working full time I was usually making mince pies on Christmas Eve and preparing a big meal. So much more relaxed these days.

Thanks to the Blip Central team for fixing the gremlin. I'm not sure that my blips are quite right so this is an early one from me to wish everyone a good day and enjoyment of any tradition you might keep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.