Wigilia

Christmas Eve, Wigilia in Poland where our little grandson's mum is from. Upon the agreement of the terms of the UK's exit from the EU it seems more important than ever to remember the ties binding us to continental Europe.

Christmas Eve is traditionally a day for a family party here. I make a fish pie and we have a jolly time. But it hasn't happened like that for the past two years and it certainly isn't happening this year. So it's a tradition that's being superseded by others. Our sons are in their own homes enjoying their own traditions. Our daughter is here as part of our extended household and we are lucky enough to be able to maintain a physical distance in the house. There will be no trouble leaving a spare seat for the 'unexpected guest' as is the Polish custom as there will just be the three of us round the table tonight.

It's been a beautiful day. The sun is now setting colourfully to the west but I thought I'd offer a bit of snow on the Trossachs earlier this afternoon. I'm adding an extra because I rarely blip the moon but I was quite pleased with this one.

However you celebrate Christmas, or indeed if you do, I hope you enjoy the next few days. If you leave a dram and a mince pie out for Santa I hope he finds you. But most of all I hope you stay healthy and have a happy time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.