Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Advice and warnings in the pub

The Haltwhistle Intermediate Walkers started their walk in Humshaugh today. I hoped to join them for pre-walk chat, but Julie and I helped Mum to have a shower and I was not ready in time.

I did meet the walkers as I set out for my walk and promised to go to the pub with them later.

No one remembered to phone to say when they were nearly back, but I guessed well and was one of the first into The Crown. (Recently dubbed the best pub in Northumberland!)

I had helpful advice from Sheila. She has had both hips replaced with a two year interval. The first was completely pain free after the op and she never opened the morphine she had been given. The second was very painful and she used the new bottle of morphine and the old one!

Dennis issued dire warnings. His replacement hip dislocated three times. After the third, a metal bar was inserted to keep the prosthesis in place!! He is fine now.

I was sitting next to the table shown in my blip. Steve expressed surprise that I had not heard about his dramatic accident resulting in a deep tear to his right hand. It involved a ladder, compost, bottles of Cava, a fall and broken glass. I could not hear all the details! He was lucky to avoid damage to nerves, arteries and tendons.

I found the din from all the talking quite overwhelming. It’s pretty quiet at home….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.