ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Marching pylons

We made another foray to the super-photogenic Aldie Burn/Lamington Woods. I've now decided to create an album on Flickr for my photographs taken there, as I suspect it is a place we will return to regularly over the years, and on the three occasions we've been there so far - today, last week and February last year - it's offered quite different images. We've yet to go in the summer. That will be interesting.

Otherwise, it was another day of working, a day with a peloton workout on the Schwinn bike, and a day to have a cup of tea with our neighbour. Quite busy, overall.

This evening, I've been making good progress on my first non-fiction book of the year: Thunderclap, by Laura Cumming. Her earlier book, The Vanishing Man, was read by my book group in December 2017, when I was away in Finland (actually, I think we were already in Singapore on the day of the meeting/dinner). This book was the basis of our 'field trip' to Madrid, to see the relevant Velázquez painting (Las Meninas). I think, reading an article linked to by hazelh, that this book covers some, but perhaps not all, of the same themes.

One insight that has struck me so far about the book is that Laura Cumming's father would probably have taught painting to our friend DR in the mid 1960s at ECA. I can see ghosts of DR's style (and specifically the painting of his which we have in our living room in Edinburgh - visitors to the flat will know it well and it occasionally features as a backdrop to blips taken in the living room - edit you can see the whole thing here) in a reproduction of one of James Cumming's pictures in the book.

Connections, connections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.