Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2024 Saturday — School Daze

Mrs. Bash taught one of the two morning kindergarten classes in September of 1954; I was 4 years old and assigned to her class. The first day of school should have been memorable for a variety of reasons: meeting my teacher, meeting my fellow classmates, getting to sit at my assigned desk, but I remember none of that.

I remember that Mom, a single mother of two little girls, was panic stricken that the teacher would notice the remaining scabs on my hands from recently having had chicken pox. So Mom found a little pair of white gloves; I'm guessing they were part of my previous Easter outfit, and she rehearsed with me numerous times that I was not to take the gloves off while I was at school. Taking time from work to come get a daughter who was dismissed from class because school officials suspected that she might still have chicken pox was not permissible in Mom's budget. I made it thru the first class session and did not get ushered out. That must has caused Mom a tremendous sigh of relief.

Two daily rituals during that school year included "nap time" and "snack time." Every kid had to bring a blanket to school that would be kept in the wooden cabinet that had a square blanket cubby for each student. Every day at the designated time we would spread our bath towel-sized blanket on the floor beside our desk for nap time. I don't remember ever falling asleep and I've never liked taking naps.

When the cafeteria lady rolled the cart with squeaky wheels into our classroom, nap time ended. A packet of graham crackers and a miniature carton of milk was issued to each student. The slightly sweet nutty flavored crackers were delicious and the gulp of cold creamy milk was satisfying. That brief interlude in Mrs. Bash's kindergarten class was a wonderful experience every day.

Many memories of my days at Julia B. Morrison Elementary School, the only elementary school I attended, are slowly, like a dry sponge getting several drops of water, coming to life.

Good night, sleep tight,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.