Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

January tasks

Our first job today was to take a bundle of towels down to fresh start in Pilton. They provide start up packs for those who have been homeless and I've been meaning to take these down for ages.
Next stop was the bank for some church business. Colin is the treasurer.
Next stop, and the source of my blip is the new cafe in Saughton Winter Garden. There had been one there in the past but although nice it was rather expensive and not really meeting the needs of most of its customers. It closed last year and has recently reopened. It is run now by Four Square, another charity who work with those having difficulty getting into work, they have a shop selling second hand furniture. The cafe is a social enterprise venture helping people into work and to develop skills to help them.
Today was the first time we'd been, it's a different layout to the previous cafe, but very friendly and comfy. We had a late lunch of carrot and pumpkin soup which was delicious. Our next task was to get rid of a very old bean bag which we didn't think would sell, but we couldn't get a tip slot. On the way home I said that I would contact the girls and check neither of them had a use for it. Colin's comment was that that was why I never managed to get rid of anything!
Ten minutes after we got home, Ali phoned. Josie had wet her beanbag chair and she was having difficulty getting the zip open to get the cover off to wash it. She then managed and discovered that the polystyrene beads were all loose with no inner bag. I advised her not to try to take them out indoors but to do it in the garden. I mentioned I had a bean bag if she lost lots and needed to top it up. Colin's brows raised slightly. I then suggested that it might be best to try to sponge clean the outer cover of the chair rather than empty it and machine wash it. I gave her a recipe using white vinegar and detergent. To her delight the marks came off and there was no need to tip out the beads .
Katy came up after dinner to return my car and as I was driving her home again, I told her the story and Colin's comment. She then said that they were planning to get a beanbag for Eilidh's new bedroom so they would like the beanbag please. I smiled to myself. Vindicated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.